October is Breast Cancer Awareness Month

I can’t believe it’s already October! My husband is right – the older you get, the quicker times goes.

October is Breast Cancer Awareness month. Although two years ago there was some crazy research controversy regarding the need for frequent (yearly) mammograms, the truth is – early detection does save lives.

A mammogram is a must for every woman – especially for those who belong to a family of women who have survived or fallen to the disease.

I had mine today.  I had a very nice and efficient technician. I like efficiency.  It took me longer to change out of my clothes and into the robe than the mammogram itself. (Does it open in the front? The back? Why can’t there be more consistency in medical wardrobe?)

Sure there was some discomfort, some pulling here and some tugging there, but it was no match for the pain I felt trying to get the paper ID bracelet off my right wrist. After changing back into my clothes, I stood there for about 3 minutes trying to tear it off.

When I felt eyes staring at me, I retreated to the privacy of the restroom to continue my pathetic display of weakness. I continued to struggle and then started to use one of my keys to tear at it one thread at a time.
Finally! It was off.

Unfortunately, they don’t let you wear deodorant on mammogram day and my struggle had produced quite a bit of sweating. Just as I was heading out the door the sweet little Pink Lady shouted after me, “Mam, do you want me to take off your ID band?” Of course she was waving a pair of scissors when she said this. I lifted my right hand, the one with the red wrist, and waved back to her.

(And who was she calling “Mam”?)

So all it all it was thirty minutes well spent:  Mammogram. Check. Exercise. Check. And I was able to start reading a book while in the waiting room – Betty White’s, Here We Go Again. She writes about her early life in television. It looks like it will be a good read and I’ve gained a quote for the quote board.

“Happiness is good health and a bad memory.” Ingrid Bergman

I’m really looking forward to next week when I get to visit the gynecologist. I hope it’s not too late to start losing weight. This is the only time I allow myself to be weighed. As if the whole visit isn’t humiliating enough.

Below is a very powerful and educational video on the importance early detection. It just takes 4 minutes to view.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y4TDT8zNQm8&feature=player_embedded

Recipe:

After a day like this, you need some good comfort food. Try this Award Winning Sloppy Joe recipe. Everyone in my family loves it and it is SO easy.

Sloppy Sloppy Joes from Crock Pot Recipe Collection                        (2008 Publications International)

Ingredients:    4 pounds ground beef, 1 cup chopped onion, 1 cup chopped green bell pepper, 1 can (28 oz.) tomato sauce, 2 cans condensed tomato soup (undiluted), 1 cup brown sugar, ¼ cup ketchup, 3 tablespoons dry mustard, 1 tablespoon prepared mustard, 1 ½ teaspoons chili powder,  and 1 teaspoon garlic powder.

Brown beef in large skillet. Drain fat. Add onion and bell
pepper and cook 5-10 minutes, stirring often. Put meat mixture in slow cooker.
Add remaining ingredients and stir well. Cook on low for 4-6 hours. Serve on
toasted buns.

Cook’s Note: I never make this much, so if you use less meat, alter the liquid ingredients accordingly. Wear a bib – these are really sloppy!

Leave a Reply

