Middle School Mishaps, Parenting Pearl, Recipes

Raising Sons: Trick or Treat?

Raising a daughter is really not that tough.  Raising a son? Now that’s tricky.

I got absolutely no argument from my husband on how to raise our daughter. I pretty much got to call all the shots.

To him, girls are so complicated – all the emotion, all the drama, all the crying. He preferred to stand back and watch. From a distance.

But when it comes to raising our son, he’s full of opinion. We often discuss the best way to parent our son. (And by discuss, I mean argue.)

I want to raise a boy who is kind, sensitive, and likes to cuddle. I say I am raising our son to be a good husband. His dad says I’m raising him to be a sissy man.

We let our daughter choose his name. This was to make up for the fact she was getting a brother instead of the sister she wanted. My husband was thrilled with her choice. According to the baby name book, the name meant athletic. He took this as an omen.

I was just glad we were able to talk her out of her first name choice, Scooby. (Parenting Pearl –  when letting your kids make an important decision, first give them 2 -3 approved suggestions from which to choose.)

We continue to have these “discussions” as our son has entered middle school. Take for instance his connections (elective) class. Our son decided he wanted to try the orchestra. This did not go over well.

Orchestra did not fit into my husband’s worldview for our son – this worldview is limited to only things which involve a ball and some sort of competition.

I tried to explain that he could be a great athlete and play an instrument.

He wasn’t buying it. Then he said we weren’t going to spend a couple of hundred dollars on an instrument.

Enter my neighbor. She just happened to have a viola laying around her house. (The rental fee is a dessert a month – I’m a little behind.)

Six weeks of orchestra and our son is just as masculine as he was before. He even told us that his wrist was hurting and it needed to be wrapped.

Surely it was hurting because of all the baseball he had been playing. Or maybe it was the football game in the yard.

Nope.

It was a viola injury. Apparently that thing weighs more than you’d think.

If it’s any consolation, he has learned to play We Will Rock You. That song is played at just about every sporting event there is. That’s got to count for something, right?

A hearty meal often brings my family over to my way of thinking and this potato dish is always a winner.

Potato Casserole

Ingredients: 1 package of frozen hash browns (thawed), 1 can of cream of chicken soup, 1/2 cup of mayonnaise, 1/3 cup chopped onion, 1/4 cup of melted butter, 1/4 cup of chopped real bacon pieces,  salt and pepper to taste.

Mix all the ingredients together and put in a casserole dish. Bake at 350 degrees for 30 minutes or until bubbly.

Note: use Campbell’s cream of chicken with herbs soup for a really good flavor and try a chopped red onion for a different taste. You can also add 1 cup of grated cheese to change it up.

6 thoughts on “Raising Sons: Trick or Treat?”

  1. I disagree with your conclusion that girls are easier to raise than boys. Boys if left to themselves will naturally grow to be kinder and more sensitive than girls. I know this because I raised two daughters. Daughters never seem to appreciate what you did for them growing up. One of my daughters even tried to poison me once with a spinach dip she made.

    Elmer McGillicutty.

    1. Mr. McGillicutty,
      If one of your daughters tried to poison you, I can only deduce that the fault rests with you. The good news is that it is never too late to make up for mistakes in parenting. I am sure an early inheritance or offer to electrically rewire her house would go a long way in making amends. Good luck and come again!
      By the way, Dad, if I had really wanted to kill you, I would have indeed succeeded. I preferred instead that you just suffer some. Please tell Lucy Fudd hello for me

  2. Dana,

    This is your best one yet! I’m happy to share our viola–I also thought it was funny when Jake said his wrist was sore!

    Kelle

  3. After raising twin boys and teaching kdg. for 20 years, I have a very high tolerance for obnoxious behavior. Raising boys is definately different from raising girls. My friends with “girls only” are not even worthy to partake in conversations with my friends who have boys. Ha Ha! But my boys have definately given me some of my best parenting stories. I am glad for that when I need a good laugh!

Leave a Reply

