Recipes

The Perfect Snack – Redneck Caviar

School’s out for Summer!

And I’ll have time to try some new recipes and post some old favorites. For some reason, I had a hunger for redneck caviar today.

Perhaps it was my visit to Wal-Mart.

It’s probably one of the easiest recipes and it makes such a hearty snack.

By the look of the ingredients, I’d even dare say it is a healthy snack. But it’s not so much the healthy part that I’m after as the would like to fit into my clothes part.

Give it a try. It’s best served with tortilla chips (especially the ones with a hint of lime.)

Ingredients: 

1 can white corn, drained

1 can yellow corn, drained

1 can black eyed peas, drained and rinsed

1/4 cup diced red onion

1/3 cup diced various sweet peppers (I used red, orange, and yellow. You can find the really small ones in a bag in the produce section. They’re great for dipping.)

1/4-1/3 cup Italian dressing

salt and pepper to taste

Mix all the ingredients together. It’s that easy! I prefer to eat it at room temperature, but others might like it best served cold.

4 thoughts on “The Perfect Snack – Redneck Caviar”

  1. Oooh, I make this all the time but I also add black beans to the mix and I use the Robusto Italian dressing(Wishbone)….yummy!!!!

Leave a Reply

