Lessons Learned, Recipes

Pet Peeves and Frito Pie

One of my pet peeves is when someone decides to be at the same exact store at the exact moment when I decide to go to the store looking like a mess (no makeup, crazy hair, stain on jacket, etc. ). And to make matters worse, on the way out I run into another person I know. It’s as if person #1 called to inform person #2 of my unfortunate condition and called her to come see for herself.

Another of my pet peeves is when someone sabotages my plan to get in shape.

I’ve finally committed to eating better (this has nothing to do with wanting to live longer, I just want to fit into my pants again) and I am actually sticking to a diet and doing really well, when my very evil son talks me into making Oreo and cream cheese balls covered in white chocolate. Being the weakling I am, I oblige.

I’ve got a whole list of pet peeves, but these are the ones that peeved me today.

But…

I guess it’s possble that I could be thankful that I have a job, which allows me to afford the trip to the store (where I encounter that friend) and…

I’m pretty sure my twelve-year-old son won’t always think it’s fun to spend time with me in the kitchen.

And I can always start that diet tomorrow. I really could, but…

in addition to the Oreo and cream cheese balls covered in white chocolate, he wants frito pie. I do make a good frito pie.

Oreo and Cream Cheese Balls

Use your food processor to finely chop an entire bag of Oreos. Mix the crumbs with a softened large block of cream cheese. Mix together with your hands. (Then lick hands.) Shape into 1/2 – 1 inch balls.  Place in the freezer to harden.

Melt one bag of white chocolate chips in a sauce pan while constantly stirring. Dip the Oreo balls in the chocolate and place on wax paper. Freeze for a least 3o minutes. (And in case you’re wondering…yes, there were several inappropriate comments made by my husband and kids as they enjoyed this treat.)

Note: white chocolate bark is easier to work with than chips, and the end result is prettier. (Jennifer, thanks for giving Jake the idea. If your recipe is different, please share it!)

Frito Pie

Make your best chili. Line the bottom of an oven-safe dish with fritos (I use about 1/2 of the bag and a large dutch oven). Pour the warm chili over the fritos. Top with 1 cup of shredded cheese. Bake at 350 for 30 minutes or until the cheese is melted and the pie is bubbling. Serve with some fritos on top.

Note: if your chili is made with water, use beef stock instead. This will kick any recipe up a notch. (I’ll include a couple of chili recipes in a future post.)

2 thoughts on “Pet Peeves and Frito Pie”

  1. Oh, I can relate to just running into the grocery store and thinking that no one that you know will be there. If you aren’t perfect they will all be there. It is funny…I haven’t had frito pie since I left Texas. I don’t know why, it’s so good.

  2. Karen,
    You are so right! I think I’m going to start shopping outside of my own town. Of course, in the time it will take me to drive to the next town to avoid seeing people I know, I could put myself toegether!

    I just saw frito pie on Diners, Drive Ins, and Dives. It was Chicken Chili Frito Pie. I want to give that one a try!

Leave a Reply

