Semi-Cajun ~ Sausage, Beans, & Rice

I spent one very long, hot summer in New Orleans when I was in college. The highlight was staying in the home of a sweet woman who introduced me to Cajun cooking. Sally was an expert in making a roux and sauces, with her specialty being jambalaya.

I wish I had stolen asked for her recipes, but I didn’t realize at the time how much I’d want them. I blame the heat.

With a little help from Zatarain’s anyone can make a Cajun dish.cajun 2

Sandra Lee has Semi-Homemade and this is what I call Semi-Cajun.

Sausage, Beans, & Rice

1 box of Zatarain’s Black Beans and Rice

2 cups water

2 cups chicken broth

1 cup uncooked rice

1 cup diced Cajun trinity – green or yellow bell pepper,  onion, and celery (Sometimes I don’t have celery and I substitute minced garlic.  I’m sorry, Sally!)

2 T oil

1 lb. smoked sausage, sliced (Kielbasa, Andouille, or any other type)

salt and pepper to taste

Heat oil in a pan and sauté the sliced sausage. Remove the sausage from the pan Cajun 1and sauté diced bell pepper, onion, and celery (or garlic) in the rendered fat.

In another pot, put the contents of the Zatarain’s box, water, 1 cup of chicken broth, and extra cup of rice and bring to a boil. Cover and simmer for 10 minutes. Add the sausage, vegetables, and remaining chicken broth and simmer for 15-20 more minutes or until the rice is tender.

No one will know you didn’t make it from scratch. I gar-ron-tee!

cajun 3

4 responses to “Semi-Cajun ~ Sausage, Beans, & Rice

  1. I love it when I can trick people :-) Yummy!!

  2. Sounds good! I believe it’s “roux”, not rue.

Leave a Reply

